Forums

Do Parent's "Come Out" ??

Page:   1 2 3 4

Mother Hen

Joined in 2011
May 23, 2011, 13:33

Do parents “come out”

I’ve heard the term “Coming Out” also used to describe parents when they tell people their child is gay, and I used it as the title of this post.

I’m still very new to all the correct terminology and what it all means, so do parents “come out” too? I’m not coming out, my son did or am I?

I tell people I have 2 boys, I tell people one of my son’s is married, I tell people they have both moved out yeah 😀 I’m proud of my boys, I don’t hide the fact I have children so I shouldn’t and don’t want to hide the fact that one of them is gay.

Sounds easy hey! In reality it might not be that easy. An issue I am facing at the moment or about to is, telling some of the extended family my son is gay. I’ll tell my story here but I would also like to hear from other parents about their experiences of telling friends and family. Maybe we can all help each other, and be a support for one another. Helen has already said a little on another post about her experiences of telling her mother, it would be great Helen if you could tell it again here, thanks.

When my son told us he was gay, my very close friend was away on holidays, I couldn’t wait for her to come home so I could talk to her. I knew she would be fine about it all and be a support for me and my son.