Forums

A New Paper re Church Attitudes to Homosexuality

Page:   1 2 3 4 5 6

Sandy

Joined in 2007
January 8, 2010, 11:18

(Sidebar: Is it possible to get an administrator to move these few posts to the news section under the article to which they pertain? It’s probably confusing for other people reading.)

Woah! Okay lets back up a step here. Obviously I wasn’t clear. I never said that elderly gay people weren’t subject to discrimination or prejudice from Christian groups or anyone else. I never said they were the most visible group of elderly people in society and that we should ignore the high rates of suicide. In fact I quite agree with everything you said. I’m a social worker and have spent my share of time in aged care. Not once did someone tell me they were gay or lesbian and I must have been in close contact with hundreds of people. My comments weren’t directed at elderly gay people at all if you read what I wrote carefully. I was questioning the use of the terms “special” and “specific” in relation to the needs of elderly people within residential care insitutions. The author of the article tries to convince us that gay people have special needs different to the rest of society and its due to those special needs that they fare so badly in aged care. I’m sorry but I still don’t get it, whats so special about being gay? Why do people stuff you into a group where you must–for your own benifit–be treated differently to everyone else to satisfy some specific need that is neither outlined or explained? Sounds suspiciously lke placing Aboriginals on reserves to me.

It’s a human right to be free from discrimination and prejudice.

It’s a human right to be entitled to the same level of competant care than every other person in the same situation.

It’s a human right not to be denied access to medical or care services due to HIVAIDS or the percieved threat of it.