Forums

Former ex-gays study

Page:   1 2

NeilH

Joined in 2008
October 18, 2008, 16:16

Hello.

I’m an undergraduate student studying social inquiry at UTS in Sydney. As part of my coursework, I am engaging in a small-scale research project that aims to examine the perspectives of former members of what I call “ex-gay institutions” – organisations dedicated to trying to stop a person being homosexual – and am looking for people in the Sydney area who have attended an ex-gay institution, and since left, who would be interested in participating in my research.

Participation in the research will consist of sitting down with me for an in-depth, recorded interview that will last approximately 30-45 minutes, and which will touch on issues of sexuality, religion and on ex-gay institutions and ex-gay therapy. Participation in the study will be kept confidential, and participants will be free to stop participating at any time without needing to state a reason.

My understanding is that ex-gay therapy can be a traumatic experience, which is why, for ethical reasons, I would prefer participants who have stopped attending an ex-gay institution for long enough to gain some emotional distance from their experiences. I’m working on the assumption that being out for at least 1 year should be sufficient, although I would welcome any correction from other people on that score.

If you are interested and live in or near Sydney, please contact me on either [email protected] or on my university e-mail address of [email protected] to organise an initial meeting where I can explain the research process in more detail. Please feel free to contact either myself or my course supervisor Kyunja Jung (e-mail: [email protected]) should you have any further questions.

Neil H

Anthony Venn-Brown

Joined in 2005
October 18, 2008, 20:41

this kind of research is very important. Similar research has been done overseas but not in Australia as far as i’m aware.