Forums

He Loves Me Not

Page:   1 2 3

Myfanwe

Joined in 2007
August 9, 2010, 17:39

In my reply, I said that sex should take place within a nurturing, committed, stable relationship, not a “marriage”. I guess I kind of take a stance somewhere in between ‘traditional marriage’ and ‘de facto’ marriage. LGBT people can’t marry, as AVB pointed out, and I think it is unfair to impose absolute celibacy on them whilst that status quo remains. I also think it is unrealistic in these times to expect anyone, LGBT or straight to be absolutely celibate outside of marriage. I like Bishop spong’s idea of ‘serial monogamy.’

So my position on it, if I was a pastor would be to encourage abstinence, but also be realistic and advocate that serial monogamy is okay and committed relationship/marriage is best.

That is the advice I’ve given my own kids, actually.

mrg

Joined in 2010
August 10, 2010, 00:37

Hi forestgrey,

This is a great topic and worth exploring in depth. And I could write heaps, but I’ll add just a few brief points that should help tell a bit of my belief and practice in terms of sexual morality.

* I think it’s important to highlight that we are talking about LGBT people of faith in this discussion. Those of no/different faith will have no/a different set of values and no group has any right to force their values on another.

* As a pastor, I’m talking about faith in Jesus and expressing that faith through our lives as best we can, recognising that we’re not perfect and stuff up repeatedly. That goes for gay and straight alike.

* Jesus taught that there will be times that we need to “deny ourselves” and “take up our crosses”. He also taught about living “life to the full”, but this involved living a life in service to God and in service to our neighbour. It wasn’t about trying to find a way to fulfil all of our own needs. This generally doesn’t go down too well in a consumeristic, individualistic culture.