Forums

Are the stories true?

Page:   1 2

Amila

Joined in 2012
July 21, 2012, 17:39

Im pretty new to this web site and the articles here have helped me immensely to reconcile my relationship with God, but I cant help think about the many stories and the books in which some people claim that they have been changed…

When I came out to my brother, who is a spirit filled christian he instantly found an article that said how a man had gone for a prayer meeting and how God had changed him and my brother was saying how God could do the same for me. I've also read two books written by people who claimed that God had changed them or that after resolving the so called "reasons" that precipitated to them becoming homosexual they changed.

I tried changing, praying, resolving issues for more than 8 years and have finally with the help of alot of people including the writers on this site am finally coming to an understanding that God still loves me.

But my question is, is there ANYONE who has actually changed? or are all of these people who claim to have changed liars (I honestly don't think so), if they are saying the truth how come that some people can change and others like me try for so long and nothing happens?

I have my own theory that says the sometimes God changes some people for His glory, but He also lets people stay the same to give Him glory through the struggles. Im no theologian and this is just a theory that I have adapted myself. What do you think about it? Can people change?

P.S : just to make myself clear, I do not desire to change and my sole reason for posting this is to just find more information,

Thank you

Ann Maree

Joined in 2008
July 21, 2012, 22:38

Hi amila29

Welcome to f2b and thanks for raising this point. 🙂