Forums

I am gay... not demonic.

Page: 1

Beautyforashes

Joined in 2012
February 28, 2012, 11:38

Hey all,

As I am a site newbie I thought that I would share my story.

I am currently 32 years old, British and spend a lot of time in Australia (currently in Melbourne for a bit). I went to University back home and studied Theology, I was raised as a Christian in a notably evangelical/charismatic environment. Whilst at University I ran a Christian youth ministry and spoke at events across the UK and in Africa. After University the ministry continued and I published two magazines with a total of 12 issues per year and a readership of over 30,000 people. I was working alongside one of the top charismatic organisations in the UK, Soul Survivor. I grew as a youth leader / church leader and also had a book published under the Survivor imprint. After University, I also got married.

My world came crashing down when my wife left me and I came face to face with myself and my sexuality. The last thing I wanted to be was 'gay'. One day I took as many pills as I could possible find and tried to take my own life. I would rather have ended everything that be gay. I was in hospital, realising that I had lived on planet earth for 24 years but I had never truly lived. Right there and then I made a profound commitment to change my life and, firstly, to come out to myself.

It was always difficult for me to reconcile sexuality and faith and at a time I needed it most I spoke to a youth leader who I trusted, living in Africa who said that it may be worth me going out there to hang out with them but that they would have to chat to the church leaders because they wanted to be careful of wolves in sheep's clothing. I was horrified. I am gay, not demonic.

Like many here, I have had it all – the laying on of hands for deliverance. The request to abstain from sexual activity, the "God loves the sinner but not the sin".. you know, the same old cr*p.