Forums

My True Self

Page:   1 2

Mags

Joined in 2012
July 5, 2012, 15:01

New here. Not to the planet. New to faith and just recently come out. Have the belief that you can't be lesbian and Christian at the same time. Looking forward to getting to know people and gaining support on my journey. Enjoy writing and I work as a not for profit fund raiser.

Having a disability I was under the misconception that if I was in a chair, no one would find me attractive, and so no one taught me the need to find my sexual identity or the need for that part of my life. I spent my life both pretending to like guys and chasing them in order to find what was missing. Like all of us I just wanted someone to love me. I'm finding hard to understand why I'm attracted to women instead of being traditional.

Thank you in advance for your support and understanding.

J

Joined in 2012
July 5, 2012, 15:58

Hey Mags, and welcome to freedom2b!

I can understand where you're coming from personally as I just came out to my parents yesterday after struggling with my sexuality for 10 years, pretending to be straight but knowing deep down inside I wasn't. I gave my parents an eight page letter with all the thoughts and feelings I had my whole life and that if I didn't tell them I probably wouldn't be here today. I'm glad I didn't top myself because I wouldn't have learnt that it's ok to be yourself, and I believe I've found the meaning to life.