Forums

religious views

Page:   1 2 3 4 5

frogger

Joined in 2005
November 17, 2007, 22:08

I am just wondering whether people in here have had a change in religious views either due there study, in relation to homosexuality in the Bible or after coming out…

Sandy

Joined in 2007
November 17, 2007, 22:49

Well I changed my views in the sense that I did not grow up in a Christian family and lived as a very active member of the secular gay community and was not particularly fond of Christians as a general rule, to becoming a Christian and in doing so leaving the gay community, my gay idenity and much of my past ideologies behind. Not quite a complete 180 but pretty close.

November 17, 2007, 22:55

I also did a 180 but in the opposite direction to Sandy.

I grew up in a church that preached that the Bible was the inerrant word of God. I pretty much believed this until I went to university. There I studied for a Masters degree in English Literature. This involved studying structuralist and deconstructionist theories which in their very simple form state that no text is objective but each reader brings with them their beliefs, cultural background, worldviews, personality etc that make each reading entirely subjective. I still held my Christian beliefs after university but was much more skeptical and analytical.

Growing up believing that the Bible was the inerrant word of God I naturally believed that homosexuality was immoral and a perversion. When I came out I could not reconcile my sexuality and spirituality and one of them had to go. It was my spirituality. I would consider myself an agnostic these days. I still have a feeling there is a superior being out there but not sure in what form and I don’t feel the need or desire to be involved in church in any way.

Myfanwe

Joined in 2007
November 17, 2007, 23:00