Forums

Stuck between denial and self acceptance

Page:   1 2

r.j.lee90

Joined in 2010
April 26, 2010, 19:40

Hello 🙂

Well, i was going around different LGBT christian related websites and i stumbled upon this site. Thought that i might start by introducing myself and telling my story.

I’m currently an international student in the University of Newcastle, in my second year of B. Architecture. I’m from Malaysia but have a Chinese background.

So… basically, i became a christian at the end of 2005. Dad’s a born Catholic, mom’s a Buddhist. Dad stop going to church when he was 12 and mom’s a buddhist till the extent of what her mom tells her to do. haha a nice mixture of religion huh! i have 3 siblings, one free thinking/atheist bro n 2 younger sisters who are very keen to learn about christianity 🙂 praise God!

i never really “found out” i was a lesbian. it was more like i grew up never really having any sort of attraction for guys. at all. of course i faked it to seem normal to my friends, but it gets tiring, it gets exhausting. feeling as though you just wanna burst out confessing who you really are!!

but being a malaysian and being from a chinese background, it’s a huge no-no to be anything sort of “abnormal”. malaysia is a muslim country and is ruled by a malay government. if you’re malay in malaysia, you’re automatically a muslim. haha it’s complicated… i know! but yeah, that’s how it is. so homosexuality is banned. if caught, you’ll basically be sent to prison + other consequence.

being from a chinese background family, we have to sort of “protect” the name of our family, being a lesbian wont help much in doing that! so, again with the pressure! every time there’s a family gathering, all my relatives will be saying things like “you better hurry and find a good boy, when you get old, all the good ones will be taken!” or “such a nice young lady like you, you’re still single? i know you wont be for long! hurry and go find yourself a nice tall boy!” and such…