Forums

Young Christian Teacher/Youth Minister - My Story

Page:   1 2 3

rural_smith

Joined in 2007
December 17, 2007, 20:13

My Story.

I knew I was a bit ‘different’ in high school when l felt these urges and attractions to my mates and others guys at my school. I was harassed and victimized as being a ‘faggot’ and a ‘poofter’. I went to a Catholic school – it was rife with bullying (and still is now). I guess l knew in about Year 8 really. My best mate always had his suspicions as well but never said anything.

I graduated and headed off to the country to go to University – a teaching degree. I had to escape my life at home and in the local community. I thought by running – l would leave my ‘stuff’ behind. How foolish l was at 18.

I ended up returning to Melbourne 2 years later to RMIT and to be with my family, whom l had missed incredibly during my ‘escape’. I just worked and worked at uni and my part time jobs. Pretending to all those around me that l was ok; this couldn’t have been further from the truth. I went through stages of binge drinking. Depression. Suicidal thoughts. Self hate. The whole thing. Worst time of my life.

I graduated and took a job at a Christian school. They offered me a position after l had done placement there. They wanted me! This, for me at the time, was profound, as l was a young man feeling fairly worthless and confused. I took the job.

I gave my life to Christ that year. I had a mentor who was a former Pastor, he bought me to God. I started going to Church. The whole thing. Eventually, l became involved in youth ministry at the school. Things were great. I had actually put aside my sexuality for the year. I had bigger and better things on my mind.