Forums

Year 12 Independent Research project

Page:   1 2

jenaz

Joined in 2007
March 31, 2008, 20:31

I am a teacher at a christian school in rural NSW, and I teach a subject called Communty and Family Studies to senior students. They have to complete an IRP (Independent Research project) on a topic of interest, and one of my students Jon has decided to research the topic “The effect that the church has had on the GLBT community and the individual’s wellbeing”. I told him that I post on this forum, and he wondered if you would answer some questions for him. If you want to send the answers to him directly, please send to [email protected], or else just post here and I will pass them on to him. He is in Year 12 and trying his best to get a handle on this. thanks so much,

Jenny

Here are his questions:

1) Do you go to church? Why?

If no please skip questions 2 – 4

2) Do you feel accepted at your church?

3) Did you feel that you had to do anything to achieve that acceptance? Please explain.

4) What are some of the effects the church has had on your wellbeing? (pos and neg)

5) Do you have a relationship with Jesus?

6) Do you feel that you had a choice in being whom you are?

7) What is your attitude to parts of the bible such as Leviticus 18: 22 and Romans 1: 26-27.

8) How important are the statements made by the 100Revs and Desmond Tutu (Supporting the GLBT Community) to you?

Anthony Venn-Brown

Joined in 2005
March 31, 2008, 21:34

hey jenaz

that is a wonderful project that your student is doing. I think it would be good to mention that this is a high school project for a particular class you teach and therefore not limited by all the usual academic ethical guidelines and procedures required in a University setting.

Are you going to the “thats so gay” conference for teachers.

http://www.fpahealth.org.au/education/calendar/tsgc.html

Desperate4Truth

Joined in 2008
April 1, 2008, 01:46